DESJARDINS FOCUS AWARD GALA

GALA 2021

The Museum has the pleasure of officially announcing that the Desjardins Focus award Gala will be returning for a fifth edition this year. More information to come!

 

GALA OCTOBER 2019

On October 26th 2019 was held the third edition of the 'Desjardins Focus award Gala' at Canimex' Denim Swift, created by the Desjardins Museum of Photography. This yearly activity is open to all photographers of Quebec, from amateurs to professionals.

The evening was co-animated by Jean-René Dufort, photograph and television host, as well as our general director, Jonathan Hugues Potvin. The six judges had the heavy task of evaluating over a thousand candidatures to nominate seven finalists in eleven categories.

Please note that the categories were slightly modified this year: indeed, the Traveller category was replaced by the Youth Focus and the ACAP/CAPA Focus, while the Great Focus was divided into two distinct categories, the Great Feminine Focus and the Great Masculine Focus. The exceptional work from our jury (Luc Desilets, Michel Doyon, Jocelyne Feizo, François Desrosiers, Yves Kerouack and Jérémie Leblond-Fontaine) was applauded during the evening.

The presentation of the Honorary Focus award is always one of the most notable moments of the evening. This year, the prize was awarded to Madam Claire Beaugrand-Champagne, first woman to be a press photograph in Québec.

Here's the list of our winners of 2019:

  • Jasmin Côté - Youth Focus
  • Chantal Bellefeuille - Successor Focus
  • Bernard Brault - Studio Focus
  • Jean-Simon Bégin - Animal-Nature Focus
  • Marcel Morin - Urban Focus
  • Boisbriand's Club Photo - Club of the year Focus
  • Tzara Maud - Action Focus
  • Éric Deschamps - Landscape Focus
  • Patrick Woodbury - Architecture Focus
  • Arianne Clément - Portrait Focus
  • Yves Kérouack - ACAP/CAPA Focus
  • Tzara Maud - Feminine Grand Focus
  • Bernard Brault - Masculine Grand Focus
  • Claire Beaugrand-Champagne - Honorary Focus

 

GALA SEPTEMBER 2018

On September 29th 2018 was held the 2nd edition of the "Focus award Gala" at Canimex's Denim Swift, created by the Desjardins Museum of Photography. This fundraising activity is open to all of Quebec's photographers, from amateurs to professionals.

The evenin was coanimated by Mme Sophie Thibault, photograph and anchorwoman at TVA, as well as M. Bertrand Godin, photograph, professional driver, author and writer for the sports car world. The five judges had the hefty task of evaluating over a thousand candidatures to name six finalists in twelve categories. During the evening, the judges were highly saluted by the finalists. The judges were : M. Luc Désilet, M. Guy Langevin, M. Jérémie Leblond-Fontaine, Mrs. Dominique Poirier and M. Patrick Roger.

The 'Focus' trophy-artwork, created by Mrs. Suzanne Ricard and M. Pierre Tessier of the RICARD-TESSIER workshop, were greatly appreciated once again this year. The most defining moment of the evening was, without a doubt, the reception by M. Antoine Désilet, 91 years old, father of the art of photography in Quebec, of the Honorary Focus.

Here's the list of our winners of 2018:

  • Mme Julie Lambert - Globe-trotter Focus
  • M. Éric Deschamps - Successor Focus
  • Mme Lucie Choquet - Studio Focus
  • M. Antoine Desilets - Honorary Focus
  • Boucherville's Club Photo - Club Focus
  • M. Bernard Brault - Action Focus
  • Mme Marie-Hélène Gravel - Portrait Focus
  • Jocelyne Feizo – Focus nature et le « Grand Focus » (exæquo)
  • Yves Kéroack – Focus paysage – Focus architecture – et le « Grand Focus » (exæquo)

 

GALA SEPTEMBER 2017

On September 30th 2017 was held the first ever edition of the "Focus award Gala" realized by the Desjardins Museum of Photography. This yearly fundraising activity is open to every photographs of Québec, from the amateur to the professional.

The evening was co-animated by Mme Sophie Thibault, photograph and anchorwoman at TVA, as well as M. Yvon Garneau. A committee of six judges had the task to evaluate the numerous candidatures to nominate finalists in the fourteen categories. Those judges are: Martine Doucet, Michel Doyon, François-Régis Fournier, Élodie Kergal, Pierre Lauzière and Chantal Turbide. 

The "Focus" trophies, in aluminium with a fused glass lens, were made by Mme Suzanne Ricard and M. Pierre Tessier at the RICARD-TESSIER workshop, in a "procedure that made every trophy unique". 

Here's the list of our winners of 2017:

  • M. Jason Huberdeau - Social Heritage Focus 
  • M. Fabiano Kwizera - Architectural Heritage Focus and Successor Focus
  • Mme Méganne Sévigny - Cultural Heritage Focus
  • Mme Sandra Des Trois-Maisons - Studio Focus
  • M. Gilbert Duclos - Honorary Focus
  • Drummond's Club Photo - Club Focus
  • M. Jean-François Leblanc - Action Focus
  • M. Louis-Charles Dumais - Portrait Focus
  • Mme Jocelyne Feizo - Nature Focus & Landscape Focus 
  • M. Bruno Godbout  – Focus urbain 
  • Mme Nancy West  – Focus architecture 
  • M. Joffrey Rivard – « Grand Focus »

GALA DES PRIX FOCUS DESJARDINS

GALA 2020

Le Musée a le plaisir de vous annoncer officiellement que le Gala des Prix Focus Desjardins aura bel et bien lieu pour une quatrième édition cette année, et ce, malgré les conditions actuelles exceptionnelles. Le Gala se déroulera de façon entièrement virtuelle, afin que tous puissent vivre l’expérience depuis le confort et la sécurité de leur chez-soi. Réservez la soirée du samedi, 5 décembre 2020 à votre agenda!

La période d’inscription commence le 15 août et prend fin le 15 septembre à minuit. Rendez-vous sur l’onglet FOCUS 2020 pour les détails.

GALA DES PRIX FOCUS DESJARDINS 2020

 

GALA OCTOBRE 2019

Le 26 octobre 2019 a eu lieu la 3ième édition du « Gala des prix Focus Desjardins » à l’ancienne Denim Swift de Canimex, réalisé par le Musée National de la Photographie Desjardins. Cette activité annuelle s’adresse à tous les photographes du Québec, de l’amateur au professionnel.

La soirée a été coanimée par Jean-René Dufort, photographe et animateur à la télévision, ainsi que notre directeur général, Jonathan Hugues Potvin. Les six juges ont eu la lourde tâche d’évaluer au-delà d’un millier de candidatures pour nommer sept finalistes pour onze catégories.

Notez que les catégories ont légèrement été modifiées cette année; en effet, la catégorie globe-trotteur a été remplacée par le Focus Jeunesse et le Focus ACAP/CAPA, tandis que le Grand Focus s’est divisé en deux catégories, soit le Grand Focus Féminin et le Grand Focus Masculin. Le travail exceptionnel de nos juges (Luc Desilets, Michel Doyon, Jocelyne Feizo, François Desrosiers, Yves Kerouack et Jérémie Leblond-Fontaine) a été applaudi durant la soirée.

La remise du prix Focus Hommage demeure un des moments les plus marquants de la soirée. Le prix a cette année été décerné à Madame Claire Beaugrand-Champagne, première femme photographe de presse du Québec.

Voici la liste de nos gagnants 2019 :

  • Jasmin Côté – Focus Jeunesse
  • Chantal Bellefeuille – Focus Relève
  • Bernard Brault – Focus Studio
  • Jean-Simon Bégin – Focus Animalier-Nature
  • Marcel Morin – Focus Urbain
  • Le Club photo de Boisbriand – Focus Club de l’année
  • Tzara Maud – Focus Action
  • Éric Deschamps – Focus Paysage
  • Patrick Woodbury – Focus Architecture
  • Arianne Clément – Focus Portrait
  • Yves Kérouack – Focus ACAP/CAPA
  • Tzara Maud – Grand Focus Féminin
  • Bernard Brault – Grand Focus Masculin
  • Claire Beaugrand-Champagne – Focus Hommage

 

GALA SEPTEMBRE 2018

Le 29 septembre 2018 a eu lieu la 2ième édition du « Gala des prix Focus » à l’ancienne Denim Swift de Canimex, réalisé par le Musée National de la Photographie. Cette activité de levée de fonds annuelle s’adresse à tous les photographes du Québec, de l’amateur au professionnel.

La soirée a été coanimée par Mme Sophie Thibault, photographe et chef d’antenne au réseau TVA, ainsi que M. Bertrand Godin, photographe, pilote, auteur et chroniqueur dans le monde de l’automobile. Les cinq juges ont eu la lourde tâche d’évaluer au-delà d’un millier de candidatures pour nommer six finalistes pour douze catégories.  Durant la soirée, le travail exceptionnel des juges a été hautement salué par les finalistes. Les juges : M. Luc Désilet, M. Guy Langevin, M. Jérémy Leblond–Fontaine, Mme Dominique Poirier et M. Patrick Roger.

Les œuvres-trophées « Focus », réalisées par Mme Suzanne Ricard et M. Pierre Tessier de l’atelier RICARD-TESSIER, ont grandement été appréciées encore une fois cette année. Le moment marquant de la soirée est sans doute la remise du prix hommage attribué à M. Antoine Désilet, âgé de 91 ans, pour l’ensemble de sa carrière.

Voici la liste de nos gagnants 2018:

  • Mme Julie Lambert – Focus globe-trotteur
  • M. Éric Deschamps – Focus relève
  • Mme Lucie Choquet – Focus studio
  • M. Antoine Desilets – Focus hommage
  • Club Photo de Boucherville – Focus club
  • M. Bernard Brault – Focus action
  • Mme Marie-Hélène Gravel – Focus portrait
  • Jocelyne Feizo – Focus nature et le « Grand Focus » (exæquo)
  • Yves Kéroack – Focus paysage – Focus architecture – et le « Grand Focus » (exæquo)

 

GALA SEPTEMBRE 2017

Le 30 septembre 2017 a eu lieu la toute première édition du « Gala des prix Focus », réalisé par le Musée populaire de la Photographie. Cette activité de levée de fonds annuelle s’adresse à tous les photographes du Québec, de l’amateur au professionnel.

La soirée a été coanimée par Mme Sophie Thibault, photographe et chef d’antenne au réseau TVA, ainsi que M. Yvon Garneau. Un comité de six juges ont eu la tâche d’évaluer les nombreuses candidatures pour nommer des finalistes dans les quatorze catégories, soit : Martine Doucet, Michel Doyon, François-Régis Fournier, Élodie Kergal, Pierre Lauzière et Chantal Turbide. 

Les trophées « Focus », en aluminium et munis d’une lentille en fusion de verre, ont été réalisés par Mme Suzanne Ricard et M. Pierre Tessier de l’atelier RICARD-TESSIER, avec une « façon de procéder [faisant] en sorte que chaque trophée est unique ». 

Voici la liste de nos gagnants 2017:

  • M. Jason Huberdeau – Focus patrimoine social 
  • M. Fabiano Kwizera – Focus patrimoine architecture et Focus relève
  • Mme Méganne Sévigny – Focus patrimoine culturel
  • Mme Sandra Des Trois-Maisons – Focus studio
  • M. Gilbert Duclos – Focus hommage
  • Club de photo Drummond – Focus club
  • M. Jean-François Leblanc – Focus action
  • M. Louis-Charles Dumais – Focus portrait
  • Mme Jocelyne Feizo – Focus nature et Focus paysage 
  • M. Bruno Godbout  – Focus urbain 
  • Mme Nancy West  – Focus architecture 
  • M. Joffrey Rivard – « Grand Focus »